Where do you get your ammo?

Discussion in 'Conventional slingshots' started by BillyBob, Apr 30, 2014.

1. BillyBob

BillyBob Junior Member

Hello All,

I am a total newb to slingshots who just becam a proud owner of a joerg sprave "Hand Howitzer".

I am currently shooting 10mm steel balls. This for two reasons 1) In my head 10mm bbs sounded bigger than they actualy are 2) I want to get accurate with my slingshot and 10mm bbs are quite economic to shoot.

I got my first 300 balls from a seller called "revolve_bearings_and_pt" and they worked out at about 3.5 pence (stirling) per ball. I have since found out that if i buy a large lot from simplybearings.co.uk i can bring this down to around 2.5pence per ball.

The only problem is that i would like to move to heavier ammo, but as you move to bigger balls the cost per shot goes up quickly. And as i said i want to get alot of practise in which will mean firing alot of shots.

Which brings me to my question: Where does everyone get there ammo and can anyone recommend a particularly cheap source? btw: I an not fixed on steel bbs, i would have no problem moving to lead if it were cheaper.

Also, i realise i could just collect the bbs after shooting. The thing is i dont have any land of my own so i am restricted to shooting in woodland in similar...thus i dont have a catch bix and finding the balls can be tricky!!

Last edited: Apr 30, 2014

2. FilthyRusty

FilthyRusty New Member

for lead i use my local bait and tackle shop m8 round fishing weights fire great( or you could melt them down and pour them into 10mm moulds)

3. BillyBob

BillyBob Junior Member