what woods are good to use for high stress

Discussion in 'Tutorial videos' started by JaggerJagger, Sep 10, 2013.

1. JaggerJagger

JaggerJagger New Member

I have an unlimited, nearly anyway, supply of pine and ill use that at least for designing, but for my birthday, or when i can afford it i was thinking of making my newest idea, which involves high stress, out of African black wood. Just let me know, and also im new to woodcarving so any tips on that would be helpfull. Im new to the forums so if im doing something wrong feel free to let me know.

2. ruthiexxxx

ruthiexxxx ruthiexxxx

Of we're talking about real African Blackwood rather than ebony then I can tell you that it is very hard indeed...a bit like carving glass!

I haven't made much in it and the only bit I can find is a little tool handle I made years ago.

It won't need any varnishing...believe me, it is way too hard to absorb anything. Just buff with progressively finer finishes.

Attached Files:

3. JaggerJagger

JaggerJagger New Member

Yes, definately real African Blackwood if i can get it, thats an awsome handle by the way, wish i could do that!:D:D

4. Saderath

Saderath Senior Member

So you get an idea how strong each is

African Blackwood
    Modulus of Rupture: 30,970 lbf/in2 (213.6 MPa)

And depending on what pine you have it will be around 10,000 lbf/in2

Cheers
    Saderath

5. rock slinger

rock slinger I rarely shoot rocks!

I got some Brazilian Cherry this weekend. it was strong and cheaper then some of the other exotic hard woods. This African wood may be stronger but what is the need. what I think is that you are overestimating the power of the rubber. But I probably don't have enough experience in this.

6. rock slinger

http://kookaburrakatties.blogspot.com.au/p/streng.html