What do you do in a powercut........?

Discussion in 'Show off your homemades!' started by VWscooby, Dec 6, 2013.

1. VWscooby

VWscooby Senior Member

.........build a slingshot by candlelight of course!!

[​IMG]

Well, ok maybe not build but at least sand it a bit, it was definitely more interesting than listening to the bad weather for two hours last night!

I was given some 10mm exterior grade plyboard so I epoxyed a couple of sheets together and cut out a few shapes. This is my first time using plyboard and I think I may have made a few mistakes! Its also not the best quality it turns out so needed a few sawdust/epoxy repairs to voids.

The finish isnt what I would usually settle for (especially on the beech) and Im not really happy with the symmetry and rounding but this is going to be an everyday shooter so it doesnt matter :) Plus I learned a lot playing around with a new material (to me) and also watching the Rambone tutorial video so the next time I use plyboard it should be better!

Anyway, here it is tonight after two coats of RLO and two of Lord Sheratons Wood Balsalm
    [​IMG]

Banding up tonight for 9mm steel

Thanks

James

2. FIAAO

FIAAO Failureisalwaysanoption

Nice work! Seems like time well spent!

3. VWscooby

VWscooby Senior Member

All banded up :) Just need the 60mph winds, heavy rain and sub-zero temps to ease so I can shoot it!

[​IMG]

4. BeMahoney

BeMahoney Builder of things

No Electricity

Yet a lot of power!

Pretty nice result for a
    candle-light dinner!

Well done!

Greetings to UK,

Be

5. Flipgun

Flipgun Well-Known Member

Looks good! One of my favorite frames.

6. 4foruglenncoco

4foruglenncoco Member

I like it, it looks like the chalace by Nathan

7. VWscooby

VWscooby Senior Member

Yup, it is indeed a Chalice! I wanted one for a while so found the template and went to work :)