The Scout - Hardwood

Discussion in 'Show off your homemades!' started by tivo532, Dec 23, 2013.

1. tivo532

tivo532 Junior Member

I like The Scout and made one from Hardwood. Still thinking if I really need to drill a hole and guide for the TTF. It's nice the way it is now. I'll do another one that really looks like The Scout!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. 4foruglenncoco

4foruglenncoco Member

Really nice, what is the palm swell?

3. tivo532

tivo532 Junior Member

It's from the same board. Lumber Liquidator label is Tobacco Road Teak. I really like color after the BLO bath. Cheers!

4. tivo532

tivo532 Junior Member

Here's another shot/view:
    [​IMG]

5. codido187

codido187 New Member

That is a very nice piece of work you got there any tips for a beginner I also like the scout just want to make my own

6. tivo532

tivo532 Junior Member

Hi codido! Thanks. Nothing really special. I'm also new to this hobby. I've been reading the forum to get ideas on how to do it yourself. Members are very helpful in providing their inputs.

Some inputs I got so far. Don't use regular construction plywood and particle board for flooring. Recommended are Baltic Birch plywood and solid hardwood (flooring material). Wood grain should run vertically if not multiplex or plywood. Use Boiled Linseed Oil for the finish. And keep reading! Cheers!

7. codido187

codido187 New Member

Thank you for the informative reply also do you use a jigsaw, router or what is the most precise tool to use and how did you make that beautiful handle

8. tivo532

tivo532 Junior Member

I use a coping saw to cut the trace from the template. Then use rasp, file and rotary tool like dremel to shape and sandpaper to finish.