"The Banana" a natural fork moorhammer made from HELP ME PLEASE!!!!!

Discussion in 'Show off your homemades!' started by Otees, Jul 8, 2013.

1. Otees

Otees Another Member

So I made my 3rd slingshot, a natural moorhammer. It took 3 days of work Shaping, sanding, oiling. This is my first attempt and I used no power tools (I have none). The finish is baby oil (Mineral oil with fragerance) and used 109 office rubber. It is really comfortable to hold and ergonomical. I tried a curvier design as the wood was curvy (I had to adapt). The Banana is called the banana because it was curvy and yellow. My sister named it when it was unsanded the 'naked banana' as it looked unpeeled see image below when slingshot is finished and unsanded. It looks like an ordinary banana when it is treated in baby oil.

066.jpg

056.jpg

The problem is identifying the wood, same problem I had with my first post, it being te same wood. It’s hardwood and Australian but it might be somewhere else in the world, I see it everywhere when I go on hikes.

047.jpg

This is the tree in the bush next to my house (Karawatha forest)

055.jpg

The fork that I used.

048.jpg

The fork stripped.

053.jpg

Working process of slingshot.

056.jpg

The finished shape not oiled or sanded.

066.jpg

Finally finished.

058.jpg

The side profile

059.jpg

The other side.

061.jpg

The top of the fork.

That's it for now, maybe my last slingshot before school. I'll be back in a few weeks. I will try and post something in the first four weeks (less stress) but I will definitely post in 10 weeks. Please leave some advice as it is my first moorhammer and my 3rd slingshot.Please identify the wood, I would be so grateful.

Cheers,
    Alex

Attached Files:

• 062.jpg
      062.jpg
      File size:
      25.2 KB
      Views:
  2. Otees

Otees Another Member

P.S- It is NOT made from Banana wood

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. Great and nice work without Powertools.

Joe

4. Otees

Otees Another Member