Spalted White Ash Natural

Discussion in 'Show off your homemades!' started by WildBill, Nov 29, 2013.

1. WildBill

WildBill The Silly Song Guy

I'm still very new at this, so forgive the poor quality and design, but here's my third attempt at a slingshot with no power tools.

As a kid I used a hammer-grip slingshot with a wrist brace, so I searched the woods nearby for a fork that I could make into a decent hammer-grip slingshot. I found one and went to work. I've been carving, sanding and polishing for the last five hours and I think it looks decent- the spalting really comes out. The grip is rather large but I have big hands- and it fits my grip perfectly. Once the LO dries I'll band up this puppy and see how she shoots.

I'm sure that once I get moved and have my woodshop back in order I'll make some nice slingshots with my power tools (since I'm very comfortable using those but not very good at carving and such) but until then, here ya go. Please go easy on me- I'm fragile.

-Wild Bill

Attached Files:

2. WildBill

These two pics are better- there's no shadows from the patio fence.

-Wild Bill

Attached Files:

3. sonnyboy204

sonnyboy204 Target Misser

I made a slingshot once where I over-thought the handle and it ended up a lot like yours. Mine was incredibly uncomfortable to hold, how does yours feel?

4. WildBill

Very comfortable, actually. I constantly 'checked' the grip and it feels quite natural for by big, obnoxious hand. Of course I haven't banded it yet so I dunno how it'll feel under tension but so far it seems quite cozy.

-Wild Bill

5. sonnyboy204

sonnyboy204 Target Misser

Cool! I thought I was doing the same thing, but then I put some bands on it and it shifted a bit in my grip making it completely different than I intended. Ended up just tossing the damn thing out.

6. WildBill