Snaring problem can any traper can help?)

Discussion in 'General Slingshot Discussions' started by ABH1, Oct 29, 2013.

1. ABH1

ABH1 Member

honestly, im just totally confused about the idea of snaring (rabbits), im a newbie in this but, there is so much alternative information which differs so much from others, like for example, that you should mask your smell or not, that the loop should be 5-6" from the ground or 4 fingers, this is confusing and frustating!!
    Can someone who has prooven success with this tricky business help please?? Thankyou

2. dolomite

dolomite Banned

Call Dave Canterbury

3. Brazilviking

Brazilviking Thread Hijacker

Call Allan Quatermain.

4. dolomite

dolomite Banned

Maybe bear grylls?

5. Brazilviking

Brazilviking Thread Hijacker

Or that Kraven dude, spiderman enemy?

Attached Files:

6. OldSpook

OldSpook Banned

It is unfortunate that so many would have so much fun at your expense. Four fingers is not six inches, but four fingers is about right. You are talking rabbits so it is harder than coyotes or foxes. Rabbits will have trails and they will follow them. If you live in country where snow covers the ground during winter those trails will become obvious after the first snow. If you don't you will have to discover the signs that rabbits leave when they make trails in grass or hedge. You can still figure them out.

Probably the most important thing about a snare is the ability of your noose to lock. If your noose releases your prey will get away. If your noose locks your prey will be in your trap when you visit it again. So make sure that your snares are lock tight snares, that they do not release your prey.

7. Haze

Haze New Member