Slingshot lingo

Discussion in 'General Slingshot Discussions' started by AngelicScars, Sep 14, 2013.

1. AngelicScars

AngelicScars MILF of the board

There has to be lingo for just about everything (all the way down to cloth diapers!). Anyway, I'm getting lost at times reading the abbreviations and lingo for the slingshots. Can anyone break down the basic/most commonly used abbreviations and words and give a short description/definition? I think it would help other beginners as well. :D

2. FilipNilssob

FilipNilssob Lactose is my Kryptonite

TGB = theraband gold. TBB = theraband black. PFS = picklefork shooter = a slingshot with a tiny fork. That's all i know, but i hope it helped :)

3. AngelicScars

That's definitely a start, and thank you! :D

4. Withak

Withak aka Whitehawk!

I'm still new to this, but I'm learning along the way too. Here are a few more items to add:

Regarding shooting styles:

TTF - Through the Fork (sideways or 'gangster' style)
    OTT - Over the Top (traditional)

You'll also see people talking about various grips such as 'hammer' grip. Basically picture yourself holding a hammer as you're about to hit a nail - and you've got hammer grip. There are a variety of other grip styles, such as the one I prefer using my thumb up on the fork to brace the slingshot. This grip sometimes incorporates a 'finger hook' around the other fork.

I know some of the folks on this forum are also members at another forum site. There is a long list of slingshot glossary items you can find here:

http://slingshotforum.com/topic/11772-slingshot-glossary-and-slang/

I'm a member at that site as well, and it's got some useful info, but I can say my experience has been that the folks here have been more friendly and helpful. I just enjoy my time more on Joerg's forum.

5. dolomite

dolomite Banned