Sideshooters TTF / OTT

Discussion in 'General Slingshot Discussions' started by Biker_Bob, Feb 7, 2013.

1. Biker_Bob

Biker_Bob New Member

I'm new to slingshot shooting but I've quickly realised that the Hathcock Sideshooter style is the one for me<br>Been <br>practicing 1/2 an hour a day for 2 weeks now, I've gone from "barn door"<br> to 1 1/2" groups at 7yds - lots more room for improvement but I'm <br>getting a real buzz out landing the balls in the kill zone.<br>I've got a few questions that I hope some of the gurus can help me with.<br>I<br> find I'm more accurate with larger shot, I've got 6mm, 9mm and 12mm. I <br>think practicing with the 6mm makes me a better shooter since when I <br>switch to 9 / 12 my groups shrink in size - why is this? Could it be my <br>release technique?<br>My sideshooter is an OTT style, I found that it <br>shoots very far to the right unless I hold it an oblique angle (with the<br> forks pointing back towards me), It looks odd but it's comfortable <br>enough. I'm thinking it's because of the OTT bands swinging out around <br>the fork ends at the end of the stroke. I've seen comments that TTF <br>sideshooters are considered more accurate, given my experiences it makes<br> sense to me - I've ordered an "Ali-Cat" (Hathcock sideshooter style) <br>with TTF gold bands to see if it's correct.....

2. MaddyMax

MaddyMax New Member