Questions regarding Naturals

Discussion in 'General Slingshot Discussions' started by WildBill, Oct 29, 2013.

1. WildBill

WildBill The Silly Song Guy

I haven't made a slingshot in 30 years- but this place, and all of you, are just to inspiring for me not to get into the groove.

I have never tried to make a natural. Where I live presently, there are several species of oak, maple and ash in abundance. Also, red bud, apple, dogwood and some various fir trees are very common. As a furniture builder, I assumed that the fir would be too soft, but I don't know if that is the case. Of the species I mentioned, are there some more suitable than others?

Also, I've never used a microwave to dry green wood- just a shed in the backyard with wood stacked for a year or three (which I don't have available at the moment). What is the recipe for microwaving green wood?

Also, are there any particular diameters or tree ages that I should be looking for? Are there any specific features in the fork that I should look for and/or avoid?

Thank y'all in advance for your help to a blundering neophyte.

-Wild Bill

Last edited: Oct 29, 2013
  2. Withak

Withak aka Whitehawk!

Thanks to the folks here I can tell you that most of the hardwoods you mentioned work very well. I love the look of applewood once some linseed oil is applied. I was also warned to avoid fir (we have a lot of douglas fir around here) as it is too soft. Fruit woods, and some large flower woods like Rhodies are good as are oak, elm, nut woods, etc.