Projects of a mad Scientist (Slingshots!)

Discussion in 'Show off your homemades!' started by Hardtimes, Aug 3, 2013.

1. Hardtimes

Hardtimes Member

Hello,

First a real introduction, I am an enthusiast living on the east coast of the USA (a chemist by profession). I love how elegant Slingshots are and I find that they truly give game a sporting chance in hunting. I am incredibly interested in Sling bow design and am working on one a long with many other projects.

Current Projects:

Epoxy Molding Slingshots:

Below are some pictures of my design process. I found some great air curing clay at a craft store and am shaping my slingshot by hand. From it I will create a mold that will make my slingshot.

I have a bunch of pictures of the process in the dropbox gallery below.

DROPBOX GALLERY TIMELINE!

The forks I just put on, once they dry I will carve them to the shape I am looking for. Then the molding!

Current look: (See gallery for timeline shots)

[​IMG]

Just added a comfort grip today. Will let it dry and do some carving tomorrow. Also updated the bottom part of the grip, for attachment of a lanyard without a hole.

Project #2 (Slingshot belt buckle and survival tool)

This is an item I am actually far a long with and am very excited about. It measures 4 1/4" long folded and Nearly 5" open. My design is one of simplicity and made of carbon steel for strength. I want to get the prototype built before I reveal it but I cant wait to share it!

Project #3 (Slingbow)

Slingshot with arrow rest attachment that falls away before the fetching hits it.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Future Projects:

Project 3: Designing a pouch that attributes a spin like a bullet onto the projectile launched from a normal slingshot.

Project 4: Ammo design, I want to make a airfoil like projectile that can fly incredibly straight and for a good distance. The other half is for this ammo to be capable of being threaded on para-cord for a slingshot survival belt.