Post Apocalyptic Power Source for Tools

Discussion in 'Zombie / Prepping related stuff' started by WildBill, Sep 14, 2013.

1. WildBill

WildBill The Silly Song Guy

Many, many years ago, I read an article in an issue of Popular Woodworking that provided the plans needed to build a foot-powered jigsaw with nothing but some pallets, bolts and piano wire. The foot treadle was the power source, which could then be connected to whatever tool you wanted to fabricate.

Foot-powered tools do seem to be the way to go. Water-powered tools are not easily re-located, and the zombies will naturally look for new flesh near fresh water- so that's not a good avenue. A waterwheel connected to a generator might work (I was an electronic tech in the Navy so I do know how to make such a power source) but a similar problem arises due to the 'tether' of wire, which even a zombie can follow to the survivors.

Pallets are great for such builds. They are plentiful, heavy and usually have two kinds of wood: cheap fir on the top and bottom and a heavy inner core of oak, lauan or other dense wood. The cores make great weights for ensuring that the flywheel can sustain momentum and the fir is good for making the basic structure- and such flywheels can be made with hand tools.