Newbie slinger

Discussion in 'Welcome & Introductions' started by Boomfiziks, Oct 19, 2013.

1. Boomfiziks

Boomfiziks New Member

Hi. My name is Dwight. I'm a high school physics teacher and I've stumbled upon this website this past summer (sorry for the late intro). I've used this site (and YouTube videos) a few times in my classroom. I've had my students use the slow motion videos to analyze the motion of the projectile to find the velocity, acceleration, and forces.

Recently, I had my students analyze the drill powered slinatron to determine the rotational rate of the drill and then figure out how big of slinatron would have to be made to launch a projectile into space, using the same spin rate of the drill. It would have to be football field big. :)

Currently, I have 2 group of students making T-shirt launchers to use during games. One group is using pneumatic system, the other group is working on a slingshot style (similar to Sprave's winch style), but uses PVC tubing and parts. They are still working on the trigger/release mechanism, they are not quite sure how Sprave's works. I'm sure any advice would be appreciated. :)

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to introduce myself. I'm looking forward to learning more about slingshots and hopefully start making some of my own.

Have a great day!
    Dwight
    Ashland, Ohio, USA

2. Tilia

Tilia Junior Member

welcome to this fine forum Boomfizicks

seem like your a teacher that knows how to make lessons interesting,

3. FIAAO

FIAAO Failureisalwaysanoption

Welcome to the forum Dwight!

I wish I had a physics-teacher like you, it sure sounds like you know how to make a lesson even more interesting!

T-shirt launchers sounds like a lot of fun :D I would love to see them, you don't possibly have any pics? I would be glad to help with any advice if it would be needed.

//Alfred

4. Brazilviking

Brazilviking Thread Hijacker

Wow! I love physics!!! Nice to have you around!

5. Will

Will Thread Hijacker