My Method for Speed Drying Natural Forks

Discussion in 'General Slingshot Discussions' started by Cubanizm, Aug 10, 2013.

1. Cubanizm

Cubanizm Junior Member

Hi everyone.

I am from New York City. I joined the forum about a month ago.
    I am new to the hobby and the forum has been very helpful .
    I have learned many helpful tips and have begun making my own forks.

However of the many tips posted, there is one I am hesitant to experiment with...

That tip, is the one about how to speed up the drying of forks by using the microwave...
    It just sounds more like a gamble than good advice... Given the likely hood of cracking... Being that I live in NYC, coming across a good fork in the concrete jungle is not as easy as in rural areas and the idea of a nice/ rare wood fork cracking is not a gamble I am willing to take...

However, despite my hesitation to speed things up with a microwave, the 6+ month wait for the wood to naturally dry seems much to looooooooong.

It is said, that "Necessity, is the mother of all inventions"....

So given my particular necessity, I began to experiment with some ideas to (un)naturally speed-up the natural process.
    I came up with a pretty good method and wanted to share it.

I hope that some of you give it a try. Please share your experiences using this method if you decide to give it a try... I would love to know how it works for others...

STEP 1:

I first seal the ends of the fork with regular old candle wax ( beeswax is o.k. too ) to ensure that the fork will later dry evenly, rather than having moisture wick out off the fork ends quicker... (This causes cracking as the wood warps.)

STEP 2:

-2A: On a paper towel which has been folded in half ( to add strength ), pour a small mound of salt.

-2B: Wrap the mound of salt in the folded paper towel and then tie it using either a rubberband, piece of string etc.. (Rubberband works best)
    *See Image(s)

( make several of these.. but make sure to make a minimum of 3. )