Mop Handle Slingshot Rifle with Quick Change Barrel

Discussion in 'Show off your homemades!' started by Darcy, May 5, 2020.

1. Yes, I like it.

4 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. Indifferent.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. No, doesn't appeal to me.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Darcy

Darcy New Member

Hi all,

This is my first attempt to post to the Slingshot Channel Forum (or any forum). I am 70-year old technologically challenged male who was not forced to use a computer until late in life, so I’m hoping I don’t screw this up.

In the spring of 2019. I happened upon one of Joerg Sprave’s slingshot videos and ended up watching a bunch of them. That brought back memories of making my own slingshots way back when I was kid growing up in a small town in southeast Kansas, USA.

Joerg’s creative genius inspired me to make a contraption I call the Vermin Popper, a cheap slingshot rifle made mostly from scrap metal from my good friend and landlord’s basement, some cheap wood and an old mop handle she gave to me after another friend accidentally stepped on the mop head and broke it. I will attempt to post some photos of the rifle and its fold-up stand to illustrate what I am writing here. Please “let me show you its features.”

1. The mop handle “barrel” features easily adjustable length. You can push the small silver spring buttons to easily add or subtract 1-foot sections of the barrel in 10 seconds or less. This also makes it possible to easily shorten the overall length to haul it in the car, or, to easily attach a different fork with a different band set in seconds. I plan to use this rifle as my “research and development” model, so making it easy and fast to switch barrels, forks and band sets works for me.