Moorhammer: noob questions

Discussion in 'General Slingshot Discussions' started by Some Guy, Sep 3, 2018.

1. Some Guy

Some Guy Member

Hey! First tiem poster here.

I never used a slingshot before, but, being a primitive man, I have been obsessing over various muscle-powered ball launchers for quite some time.

I decided on the bronze Moorhammer. It’s shiny! I’ll get some steel balls of the bigger variety and work myself down in weight and diameter, should my incompetence prove painful. I’ll be using TBG. Until I’m fairly competent I wont experiment with full butterfly and max power taperings due to muh wristslap, but I gravitate towards more power as most noobs are bound to do. I am depending on my hands for work which will surely add an element of leisurely tension to this hobby regardless.

What I’m looking for is a setup that will allow me to grow with the slingshot, and being a noob I value durability foremost. I like long walks and shooting at stuff which I’ll be doing a lot.

I don’t know what to order. What is a basic setup for a strong noob shooting 20 mm steel or lead with a bronze Moorhammer that will keep me set for quite some time? A bunch of TBG and some ammo - but what length of the bands when I set ’er up for the first time? Single, double or triple bands? Are there other things I should consider, too? I value weight and momentum higher than velocity.

I understand that starting with a more noob-friendly slingshot and less powerful bands would make sense, but I don’t mind learning technique the hard way unless we’re talking full blown bone fractures. Are we?

Best wishes

2. Belargo

Belargo Mad Scientist

Well, hello there!
    Seems you like to jump in at the deep end ;)
    I don't shoot ammo that big, but the band calculator ( http://www.slingshotchannel.com/band_calc.html ) suggests triple bands of 2,5 cm TBG per side. Band length is dependent on your draw length.