Moorhammer Mania

Discussion in 'About the Forum' started by JonS, Apr 12, 2015.

1. JonS

JonS Member

So, here it is. It's my first time ever making a Moorhammer but it turned out well. Great improvement from my first slingshot(a poorly made and uncomfortable Rambone).
    This is my second slingshot in order(I haven't been much into conventional slingshots, but it will probably change now).
    This Moorhammer was built using high quality plywood, but not Multiplex as it's way too expensive and hard to find at where I live. I had literally no idea how the Moorhammer was supposed to look, because I had nothing more than a 2D picture of the actual frame. After some research I then saw that the handle looked much like the one used on the Rambone. Therefore I simply printed out the Rambone handle template and used it on this design.
    The biggest difference between this Moorhammer compared to my Rambone is that when I made the Moorhammer I held the slingshot in my hand and shaped it to become very ergonomic. That left me with an extremely comfortable handle that fits my hand like a glove.
    You might recognise that this slingshot doesn't have as big curves as the original Moorhammer and/or Rambone. That was due to a mistake made by me where I forgot to measure the thickness of the slingshot. It means that my slingshot is about 6 mm thinner than the Rambone, but to me it actually feels better in my hand.
    I banded up the slingshot with 25mm TGB, tapered down to about 20mm. I used 2 layers of TBG per side. With the very comfortable grip - and the very low forks - the only limit for increasing power is how much weight I will be able to pull.
    This Moorhammer shoots 18mm marbles and 10-18mm steel balls.

These are all the tools that I used for this build:
    -Jigsaw
    -Rasps
    -Files
    -Sanding sponges
    -Sandpaper
    -Scissor (for cutting out the template and the leather pouch)
    -Hole puncher (for the leather pouch)