Mold

Discussion in 'General Slingshot Discussions' started by codido187, Dec 25, 2013.

1. codido187

codido187 New Member

Does anybody know what would make a good mold to make sling shot what material would be good I made a dirt mold but would it work good is my question sorry I'm a newb

2. Mulgarat

Mulgarat New Member

Dirt is i bad idea to make a mold from. If its wet, there will be bubbles in the product and it would take a lot of time to get ride of them. Dry dirt is too crumbly to make a good mold from. You should use dry sand.
    In addition a lot of people posted something about casting in this forum, so here are a few links:

Lost foam casting: https://www.theslingshotforum.com/f5/slingshot-casting-success-30946/
    What you need to pay attention on: https://www.theslingshotforum.com/f5/casting-epic-fail-3000-c-31820/

Also check out the youtubechannel of thearthofweapons ;)

3. codido187

codido187 New Member

Thank you very much for the information I was stuck in what I should. I made a mold from sand I turned the sand into clay by adding water. Then I let it back for a few days in the sun now it is rock solid.

4. VWscooby

VWscooby Senior Member

Casting metal can be extremely dangerous if you dont get it exactly right. A member recently had an unexpected Thermite reaction which, luckily, didn't get out of control. (Well, as in control as Thermite can be!)

Have you thought about other materials? Making HDPE blocks/moulds is relatively easy and can give great results, it going to be my next project :)

http://www.instructables.com/id/Making-Blocks-out-of-HDPE-milk-jugs/

5. codido187

codido187 New Member

ImageUploadedBySlingshot Forum1388067398.163808.jpg
    And I worked the dirt till it is rock solid

6. codido187

codido187 New Member

That would be scary a thermite reaction would not be good and no I haven't I didn't know where to start with melting plastic I am a metal worker by trade so I know some about metal just never casted before