MDF slingshot

Discussion in 'New project ideas' started by Viks, Feb 4, 2014.

1. Viks

Viks Member

Could a slingshot be made from MDF, And is it strong enough?

2. VWscooby

VWscooby Senior Member

MDF is basically cardboard. I wouldnt feel safe using it.

3. nijam

nijam tiro loco

just don't do that. make you a favor and keep your self safe

trust me I am a carpenter

4. dolomite

dolomite Banned

MDF is sawdust with glue, not advisable.

5. onnod

onnod Im from Holland, isnt that weird?

i would leave MDF alone and look for multiplex instead :)

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Slingshot Forum mobile app

6. Slagskimmer Mike

Slagskimmer Mike thinks TBG smells better than roses

+1 With everyone here---you will be happier with something else. Fruit trees in your area, maybe.

MDF makes great targets:D. (Don't breathe mdf dust, and working it makes plenty.)

A nice looking hammer-style ss was posted on here made from that crap---thankfully the user wasn't grievously injured when it failed.

7. jackofalltrades

jackofalltrades Banned

Depends mate, look at the bazfella on YouTube, when he shows off his collection he shows two mdf models near the end of the video, he voices his concerns over them but confirms they have held up, I feel if its thick enough and you use light bands and light ammo you cud get away with it. :)

Sent from my iPad using Slingshot Forum

8. WildBill

WildBill The Silly Song Guy

If you must use it, make sure it's furniture grade. Anything less and you'll definitely be in trouble.

-Wild Bill

9. dolomite

dolomite Banned

Bad advice. That's one hell of a wager on safety. If you win then lucky you. If you loose, it may cost an eye or some teeth. I'm just not into that kind of betting. Best to stay with hard woods.

10. jackofalltrades

jackofalltrades Banned

No not if you consider light bands on one inch mdf, that set up is as safe as houses, and may I ask have you actually tried or tested mdf as slingshot material