Kind of Compound-Slingbow ;)

Discussion in 'Slingbows' started by Silversurfer, Dec 18, 2013.

1. Silversurfer

Silversurfer New Member

I am totally new in the slingshot business. So I am sorry if I have silly ideas/questions. Just let me know. ;)

At first I wanted to copy Joergs foldable lightweight slingshot-Crossbow for my first project, but I decided to start with an easyer Slingbowproject.

I thought about how I can add something new to this topic.

So what about a kind of Compound-Slingbow to make it stronger?;) (maybe + doubling the tubes)

[​IMG]

Totally stupid or an idea with potential?

Last edited: Dec 18, 2013
  2. Obl1v1Aus

Obl1v1Aus Meh!

I've been tinkering with a similar concept, just using an old compound bow riser I have and making limbs to suit the rubber like this.

you need a string stop to emulate the 'snap' of a bowstring, If you reverse where the rubber attaches you can do this on the whisker biscuit guard of your drawing.
    probably a little confusing, so here are a thousand words on the subject

Attached Files:

3. Silversurfer

Silversurfer New Member

Is there any advantage in the changed drawing? I also wanted to use the attachment of the whisker biscuit as a string stop. Doesn't the String hit the stop much more harder and louder every time with your setup and delivers more the feeling of a normal slingshot than a bow? I hope I got your idea right.

4. Ghosth

Ghosth Over the hill but still swinging!

Interesting ideas.

I'm not sure if it was me if I'd go with the compound style. Unless you have VERY good bearings you lose a lot of efficiency. Also I remember all too well the pain of trying to maneuver bow's through things like plum thickets.

However you won't know for sure until you've tried it.

If it was me, I'd make it less "bow" like, and more linear, more like one of Joerg's creations. If you need more power, go with stronger rubber.