Hello from Oregon, USA!

Discussion in 'Welcome & Introductions' started by Withak, Aug 15, 2013.

1. Withak

Withak aka Whitehawk!

Hi everyone - just wanted to introduce myself. I've been watching The Slingshot Channel on YouTube for awhile and thought I'd check out the forum, which I then decided to join. I'm a native of Oregon in the beautiful Pacific Northwest of the USA.

I'm pretty new to slingshots and had no idea how much talent and skill can be found out there. I've been inspired to try and make one myself some day. I've got some trees in the yard that may make for a decent weapon if I can find just the right branches. I haven't tried a project like this before, but I did just do a strip and re-finish of a gun stock that turned out very nice, so I should at least be able to do a decent finish job, regardless of my cutting/carving skills ;)

I've been an avid firearms guy for many years, but recently have found interest in other weapon types since it can be difficult to get out and shoot my guns. I can get away with slingshots and even some quiet airguns in my yard to at least partially satisfy my urge to put projectiles down-range.

Looks like a nice place to get some inspiration and learn some things. It's also fun to see the international representation here. Being the descendant of numerous immigrants from Europe, I can't help but feel a remote connection to the places my grandparents and great-grandparents came from.

2. Will

Will Thread Hijacker

Hello and welcome! Nice to have you here with us! Oregon is a beautiful state, I lived and worked there for quite a while, and hopefully will again soon. This slingshot hobby is very addictive! You will soon have removed every branch in your area, and will be unable to look at a tree without thinking about good forks:D!
    Lots of good, friendly members here, so don't hesitate to ask any questions!

3. Obelix

Obelix Delete

Welcome to the Forum.

4. xXdoomXx

xXdoomXx Junior threadjacker ag. J