Hello from Barnacules Nerdgasm!

Discussion in 'Welcome & Introductions' started by Barnacules, Jan 6, 2014.

1. Barnacules

Barnacules Barnacules

Hello,

My name is Jerry (aka. Barnacules) and I am a HUGE fan of Joerg Sparve and his YouTube channel. I watched the episode recently on the Rambone 3D printable slingshot and decided to give it a try since I do a lot of 3D printing projects on my YouTube channel (Barnacules Nerdgasm).

I printed the Rambone on my Ultimaker 3D printer using colorFabb Gold PLA/PHA at 0.2mm layer height with 100% infill at 100mm/sec printing speed. The results were awesome the slingshot fits in my hand like a glove. It also feels pretty damn indestructible which is something I was worried about printing it in PLA since it's not as strong as ABS plastic.

I have never built a slingshot before and wanted to MacGyver it so I decided to destroy one of my old PT isometric rubber bands and use it as the sling and power source. At first I thought it wasn't going to work good but then I took the Rambone outside and fired some paintballs at my garbage can my eyes opened wide because the speed and impact was not only impressive it completely blew my expectations out of the water. And the sound this thing makes is mind blowing :eek:

I agree that the material is used is not ideal by any stretch of the imagination for a slingshot but I like trying stuff and doing things differently even if it ends in failure I learn a lot from it.

Joerg built a hell of a Slingshot and I will start a new thread on here when I get the video up tomorrow at http://barnnerd.com for you all (and hopefully Joerg to see!). I am just finishing shooting some video tonight then tomorrow when it's light outside I'll capture some high speed 120fps footage of me shooting it so you can see it in real time and in slow motion cobbled together from a 3D printer.