first laminated slingshot!-by artons

Discussion in 'Show off your homemades!' started by artons, Aug 8, 2013.

1. artons

artons New Member

hi folks, i have been thinking about a laminated slingshot for a while and i thought: which is the best laminated SS you can find on internet? a flippinout SS of course!
    so i decided to copy the design and "tried" to give it a glossy finish.
    this is my first attempt with varnish, and i discovered how it's hard to use it, it took 3 days for drying! and maybe i should apply other layers.
    i'm not totally satisfied yet, but it's the first try, i can improve my technique.
    ok, about the slingshot, i used a 4mm laminated core glued with 7mm iroko wood scales and the palmswell is my usual padauk wood.
    i used dark and light wengè for the fork tips and a lamination of walnut and mahogany.
    this is it (i think), if you have suggestions on how to apply varnish i apreciate it really much. :D

PICT0001.jpg

PICT0002.jpg

PICT0003.jpg

PICT0004.jpg

PICT0005.jpg

PICT0006.jpg

hope you liked :)

2. Tremoside

Tremoside SINdustrial designer

Congraulations artons, this came out nicely :)

I hope you will enjoy shooting with this SS.

I'm not a varnish expert and I prefer some semi matte finish and used steel wool to manipulate the glossiness of the piece. If you try out using steel wool you have to wait till the piece is totally dried. I used varnish for rows and boats a really tough one. Filled a can (or used the original) and sank knife handles into for a few times. Just had to watch out for drops at the bottom.

Have a nice day mate.

3. xXdoomXx

xXdoomXx Junior threadjacker ag. J

i loves it !!!

j

4. Brazilviking

Brazilviking Thread Hijacker

A good way to make the varnish works easier is making a mix of half varnish half solvent , using it on the first 2 layers, and then adding more varnish to the mix, and doing aditional layers. The last layer can be made from pure varnish. Becomes smooth and shinny.

5. Will