Choosing tools (HELP BV, PLEASE!!!)

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Brazilviking, Aug 8, 2013.

1. Brazilviking

Brazilviking Thread Hijacker

I've been thinking about buying me a table saw...an a belt sander
    I've foud both on a local internet store, and a fantaistic promotion, where you buy both with low price together.....Ah, free shipping!!
    But I've never worked with a beltsander before....sooooo

I need to know how much does it help on a workshop. Can I shape wood with it? does it replace some of the annoying manual sanding work? The belt lasts about how much time with frequent use?

In resume....is it worth?

My tools are: Eletric drill(manual)...not table, jigsaw, dremmel, and a weak table grinder

I already thank for all the help!!

Attached Files:

2. Will

Will Thread Hijacker

Both tools would be very good! A belt sander is a huge help and will save you tons of time. I had an ancient model that recently broke finally and I miss it very much!
    That saw appears to be what is called a 'bandsaw' very helpful for what we do. However, the same brand, Skil, also makes a very nice scroll saw that would be even better. I believe its the same price too...
    But both of these are excellent purchases!

3. Brazilviking

the scrollsaw it cheaper....I thought this bandsaw would be better than the scrollsaw.......:confused:

4. Will

Will Thread Hijacker

Its a very tough choice. The bandsaw will cut larger items, and very quickly, but it will not be as accurate as a scroll saw for board cut shooters. The scroll saw will cut a much tighter radius.
    Both are very good, but it depends upon which you think would be better for you

5. Brazilviking

hummmmmm! That is a great info!!! thanks!!!

6. Brazilviking

This is the scrollsaw, I think...also with a promtion when bought wit the beltsander...

Attached Files:

7. Flipgun

Flipgun Well-Known Member