Bowfishing crossbow slingshot

Discussion in 'Slingshot Crossbows' started by dlnd5d, Feb 4, 2014.

1. dlnd5d

dlnd5d New Member

Hi all,

I'm new to this forum but have been tinkering with slingshots for bowfishing since Dave Canterbury made the video of his survival slingbow. I love doing these designs as I am studying to be a Mechanical Engineer.

My latest is a cross bow that uses old roller blade wheels with a groove cut in a lathe out of a Hyperdog tennis ball launcher frame guided with a green laser. I always use theraband silver anymore and this dude packs a wallop. With the bowfishing arrow, it goes through any gar I can shoot at. I don't have any bolts for it yet since they use half moon nocks, but I tested one anyway and it shot 100 yards before the bolt hit the ground. I tied on a stirrup for cocking since I used a caliper release instead of the conventional crossbow nock point. The reload time actually isn't bad since this isn't too heavy of a draw (80 lb?) but the pretensed bands makes it very efficient.

Let me know what yall think, glad to find a forum with stuff I like

Attached Files:

2. that really cool!
    i love the idea of using Rollerblade wheels for the rollers!
    also i like the trigger mechanism, is it an archery bow release?

3. VWscooby

VWscooby Senior Member

Great idea with the blade wheels. Decent bearings like that should cut down the friction right?

4. dlnd5d

dlnd5d New Member

I appreciate that for sure :) blade wheels have double bearings so with a spray of silicone they go for a solid minute after spinning. Yea, I wanted to do a custom trigger but I already had that release available so I figured out a way to mount it pretty easily

5. rock slinger

rock slinger I rarely shoot rocks!

Very creative. The carp shall be shot

6. FilthyRusty

FilthyRusty New Member

i want one LOL!!! what was the build time on this project?

7. Bushmaster

Bushmaster New Member