Bodily Harm caused by slingshots

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by kohlqez, Jan 9, 2014.

1. kohlqez

kohlqez Accident-Prone

Ok so it started last night whilst I was burning a design on my latest slingshot. I was almost done when my hand slipped and the burner slid into my left wrist. It was painful but I got over it. It will however be a scar people see and assume I was cutting myself, but such is life. I went back to work on my sling and almost forgot about the wound.
    And now this afternoon, less than 24hrs after I burned myself, I gutted my thumb with my router while cutting band grooves on the same slingshot! After a lot of blood, 3 bandaids, and the shock wore off I sit composing this thread to ask a simple question, is it normal to have a slingshot that tries to kill you? Or is mine just cursed? Anyone else have this much pain as a result of one slingshot?

Don't worry about me, I'll be fine. (At least I think I'll be fine I'm not a doctor or anything) there's no permanent damage (that I know of...) but I'll be unable to shoot for a while though, and not sure how productive I'll be in the shop.
    Side note: don't use a plunge router upside-down!

2. VWscooby

VWscooby Senior Member

I think that a good slingshot demands blood sacrifice, who are we to stand in its way?

3. kohlqez

kohlqez Accident-Prone

Well it got plenty of blood! I hope the "good slingshot" part happens now

4. Withak

Withak aka Whitehawk!

So far mine have only gone on the attack when shooting with them. They get especially aggressive if I feed them the wrong ammo - a jagged rock, for example. One left me with a scar I'll have for life when I ignored the warnings. We're on better terms now, though the thought of slipping it a little fork hit has crossed my mind (don't tell him that).

5. onnod

onnod Im from Holland, isnt that weird?

Haven't had an agressive/cursed slingshot so far, glad to hear you'll be fine

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Slingshot Forum mobile app

6. EnesK