Accidentally Making Thermite While Casting (4500 Degrees!)

Discussion in 'Show off your homemades!' started by The Art Of Weapons, Jan 17, 2014.

1. Well this was an eventful casting........
    [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F21SKWKJJL4[/ame]
    Thermite is Dangerous! I am really lucky that nothing worse happened and i am posting this video to hopefully help stop anyone from making the same mistake! enjoy!

2. codido187

codido187 New Member

The question is now how did it create thermite I'm new to smelting and I'm smelting aluminum what caused it to create thermite???

3. The rust in the inside of the steel tube contains iron oxide that reacts with the alm to make iron thermite
    I think...

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

4. beaverIII73

beaverIII73 Junior Member

Failures suck man. I just had a good one. I was making a stacked leather handle for I new knife I have been working on. I epoxy resin I used never set and all of the leather is trashed. And I used the the same batch of resin on a peace of micarta, also trashed. But I had a new idea for I handle that I want to try. So its all good. And you SS turned out excellent. We live and we learn.

5. codido187

codido187 New Member

Geeze that is scary taow I'm glad your ok. So should I sand down any pipes before I hear them.

And damn beaver that sucks I like your knives man they're really good

6. Yep I didnt really know what to do when it all happened and it sucked that all of my stuff wes brocken
    Also that sucks about the epoxy
    I like to use fibreglass resin because as long as u add even just a couple of drops of hardener it will set eventually , just takes time

7. codido187

codido187 New Member

You have in spired me to melt things taow and I'm going melt me an aluminum ss soon

8. cool!
    but remember to stay safe!

9. codido187

codido187 New Member

I shall taow

One more question how many rolls of aluminum do think it would take to make one slingshot

10. Antraxx

Antraxx #7