My first handmade slingshot! (I demand evil critics)

Discussion in 'Show off your homemades!' started by JuDas87, Mar 5, 2017.

1. JuDas87

JuDas87 New Member

Hi everyone! I'm quite new to this topic, I've never used a slingshot or worked with wood until a couple weeks ago, but I'm following Joerg and other similar channels from years now, and I always wanted to try.
    So here i am with my first handmade slingshot, I've used an old branch of beech (found in my attic, my parents used this wood in our fireplace when I was a kid), then I've bought the most cheap rasps, handsaw and knifes I could find, and start to carve that branch absolutly without power tools (and I've soon discovered why it's called "hard wood").
    I've made a lot of stupid stuff, break the limbs apart (then repaired with glue and screws) and cut deep in my finger are two good examples, but I'm quite happy with the final result.
    My goal was to make a side shooter with some sort of satanic style, but also be really confortable, so I've modelled it around my fingers and made the grip extremly ergonomic for my hand.
    I've used thera band gold with steel ammo and, even if I don't have a proper tecnique, I've achieved good target results from 10 meters of distance, also I've reached surprising good result even with wood arrows with feather vanes.
    For polishing, after a long session of sanding till 3000 grit, I've applied italian olive oil and vinegard.
    The only disappointing thing was the glossy varnish, nothing happened...
    By the way, any suggestion or critic are welcome!

[​IMG]

TurnTable
    [​IMG]

My fingers are totally nested in the wood.
    [​IMG]

The beech, the only tools I've used, my finger, the limbs split apart, and finally the slingshot repaired and with the main shapes blocked out.
    [​IMG]

Drew_Bilbrey and Bugar like this.
  2. Knallfrosch

Knallfrosch Senior Member

Sorry, no evil critics from me.:)

Very nice shape and i really like the layerd fingermoulds.