Lionsteel M5

Discussion in 'Knives, Swords, and other bladed weapons' started by kiozen, Nov 23, 2016.

1. kiozen

kiozen Member

Hi,

at the age of 14 my father gave me a knife with a very nice blade. That knife served me well since all the years of travel and outdoor activity. More than 30 years and still several to come.

Now it is my time to do the same. But I am a total noob if it comes to knives other than kitchen knifes. Of course my son has a thousand ideas what knife he likes. One of them is the Lionsteel M5.

As everyone in this forum seems to be more expert in knifes than me: Good choice? The idea is to have something lasting, that can be used without regret. Other suggestions are also very welcome.

Just for the fun: This is my old worn knife

Attached Files:

2. Finally... This is one of those few topics in which can actually give somewhat useful advice.

I have no personal experience with "Lionsteel", but it looks like a solid knife. Full tang, g10 handle

Though it really depends on what he intends to do with the knife. (Hunting, carving, chopping ect) If I were to know the intended purpose of the knife, I could likely suggest a couple of quality knives.

3. kiozen

kiozen Member

I know that feeling :D

Well, the use is multipurpose: From slicing bread, to chopping branches, cutting ropes, carving wood to build a shelter. More or less all the stuff you do on outdoor activities. It won't be necessary to single handed kill a boar with it. But to cut open a fish is definitely in the scope, too.

4. Ok, that helps. If you want a relatively large all purpose knife, I would suggest something from "Esee" or "Becker". Both brands offer near indestructible knives, purposely built for exactly what you want.

The Becker Knife 2 is known for its reliability and strength, though it's a bit heavy to wear on a belt while hiking.