You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of The Slingshot Forum!    

Slingshot Forum - The Slingshot Channel Official Forum > General > Show off your homemades! >

"Mantis" Slotbow - why did I not think of this before?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2015, 05:29 AM   #21
calinb

Liked 31 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdh2000 View Post
That's awesome. I have seen 3D printers spit out all kinds of things but have only seen it do a slingshot online. It must be a treat to not only see it printed but then test it as well. 150 lbs is crazy.

Perhaps you can use the printer to make a part that allows shooting with the arrow inserted either way.
I'll work on that Dan and post photos when I have something. I'll add the second pattern that's rotated 180 degrees (a slot every 60 degrees). I had a recurve bow years ago that I made in Jr. High shop class, but I have no experience with slingbows and I'll have to order some arrows first.

-Cal

Old 07-12-2015, 06:06 AM   #22
JoergS
Administrator
TSF_ADMIN.png

Liked 10173 Times on 2735 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Send a message via Skype™ to JoergS

Six slots vs. three isn't such a good idea. The slots need to be flared in because the vanes are glued onto the shaft, and that thickens the shaft a bit. If you put on six flared slots, then the arrow guidance will be very loose.

It is actually impossible to put in the arrow the wrong way. The bands are very short (as the draw length is limited to the length of the arrow, maybe 80 cm). Therefore the arrow has to be inserted with the vanes in the slot when you nock it.

tokSick Likes This 
Old 07-12-2015, 11:50 AM   #23
bigdh2000
Administrator
TSF_ADMIN.png

Slingshots

Liked 8947 Times on 5123 Posts
Likes Given: 1615

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoergS View Post
If you put on six flared slots, then the arrow guidance will be very loose.