You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of The Slingshot Forum!    

Slingshot Forum - The Slingshot Channel Official Forum > General > Off Topic >

When to go public / ask for support | Coilgun | crowd funding

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2017, 07:49 AM   #1
DerAlbi

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Send a message via Skype™ to DerAlbi
Post When to go public / ask for support | Coilgun | crowd funding

Hi guys,
I am a young engineer from Germany and in the past 4 years I invested a lot of my time in developing a Coilgun. A Coilgun is basically an electric motor. It uses coils/inductors to create a magnetic field which attracts a ferromagnetic projectile to accelerate it. I kind of think it would fit in this forum.
Sorry that I have to blast you with a wall of text but I think my final question needs some context.

State of the Art: There are a lot of Coilguns out there – most of them displayed on Youtube by hobbyists. Before you search yourself, let me summarize: the most viewed coilguns are the pretty ones. Most showoffs are made by shooting glass, cellphones, whatever.. basically everything that would break if you let it drop from a table :-D OK - some are penetrating thin aluminum cans.. the projectile energies reach up to ~20J.

Now some technical stuff: Being an electric motor a Coilgun converts electrical energy (stored in capacitors) into kinetic energy. This energy conversion has of course an efficiency because there is also heat as a byproduct. Here is the catch: The typical Coilgun design you find on youtube reaches around 1% - 3% efficiency. Pathetic, isnt it. This is why most titles say “xxx kJ-Coilgun” which is mostly a reference to the electrical energy stored in the gun. This of course is pure click bait, because 1% of 1kJ electrical energy is still just 10J in the projectile.